We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Slowjet (Iain Sloan's pre​-​Marshals band​)​: "Slowjet" [Limited Edition 6​-​track CD]

by The Wynntown Marshals

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £5 GBP  or more


  • Limited Edition [1 of 50] giclee print of the "Golden Age" artwork [signed and numbered by the artist, Tom Gauld]

    Strictly limited edition high quality giclee print [1 of only 50]. The print is 15.7" x 8.7" (398 x 220mm) and is signed and numbered by the artist, Tom Gauld.

    Sold Out

  • Slowjet (Iain Sloan's pre-Marshals band): "Slowjet" [Limited Edition 6-track CD]

    Prior to 'moving to Wynntown' in 2007, Marshals' guitarist/pedal-steeler/vocalist Iain Sloan was part of 'slowjet' - an Edinburgh-based 3-piece - alongside bassist/vocalist Scott Tobin (now of Dropkick) and Andy Weir (formerly of Chickweed) on drums and vocals.

    Although not a million miles away from the sound of the current-day Wynntown Marshals (by virtue of Iain's guitar-playing and vocals no doubt), slowjet were perhaps more influenced by the likes of Teenage Fanclub, Matthew Sweet, Bob Mould/Sugar, Death Cab For Cutie, with a little slice of Foo Fighters thrown in now and again.

    Recently uncovered in the 'archives' (aka 'Iain's attic'), slowjet's self-titled debut 6-track EP is a strictly limited edition release, and features fan favourites "SummerHum", the Fanclub-esque "Hear Me Out", "Colours" (reminiscent of Dinosaur Jr and Buffalo Tom in ther heyday) and "Time Waits", which recalls Husker Du in their prime.

    Although written collaboratively by Iain, Andy and Scott, all 6 tracks on this release feature Marshals' guitarist Iain Sloan on lead vocals as well as on guitar duties.

    Like this? Also available to buy here are slowjet's 9-track follow-up album "It Takes A Stretch Of Water" and 2-track single "Black Cross"/"Everything Around Me".


    Iain Sloan: lead vocals, guitars
    Scott Tobin: bass guitar, vocals
    Andy Weir: drums, vocals

    All songs by Sloan / Tobin / Weir

    A recording by Al Denholm at Revolver and Golden Acrid Studios [Edinburgh]
    Mastered by Peter Haigh at Pier House Studios [Edinburgh]

    Copyright 2004
    Bawhum Records
    ... more

    Sold Out

Summerhum 04:11
Sugarsweet 03:41
Hear Me Out 03:45
You Can Hope 03:03
Colours 03:40
Time Waits 03:39


released January 1, 2004


all rights reserved



The Wynntown Marshals Edinburgh, UK

Formed in Edinburgh in 2007, The Marshals tip their hat to The Jayhawks, Wilco, Drive-By Truckers, Tom Petty, Ryan Adams & Neil Young.

Their sound can loosely be described as ‘country rock' with powerpop hooks, but they love layered guitars, catchy choruses and have an unabashed belief in the power of rock music as a storytelling medium.
... more

contact / help

Contact The Wynntown Marshals

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like The Wynntown Marshals, you may also like: